Register | Cookies | Links | Contact | Important legal notice
 European Commission > Eurostat > International statistical cooperation > Africa, Caribbean, Pacific > Africa (sub-saharan) > West Africa

West Africa

Eurostat supports the European Community's development cooperation goals in West and Central Africa by providing advice to the European Commission's external services and through them to the European Community's regional and national development partners.

Eurostat's statistical advice focuses on European Development Fund (EDF) regional integration programmes that operate in partnership with the main regional organisations, UEMOA and ECOWAS in West Africa and CEMAC and CEEAC in Central Africa.

West Africa Statistics Objectives

The West Africa 10th EDF Regional Indicative Programme (RIP) for 2008-2013 covers UEMOA and ECOWAS – all UEMOA member states are also members of ECOWAS.


  • UEMOA 8 member states: Benin, Burkina Faso, Côte d'Ivoire, Guinea-Bissau, Mali, Niger, Senegal and Togo

Click to enlarge

  • ECOWAS 15 member states: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Côte d'Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Bissau-Guinea, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone and Togo.


Click to enlarge

See also
Last update 18.12.2009