Register | Cookies | Links | Contact | Important legal notice
 European Commission > Eurostat > NUTS - Nomenclature of territorial units for statistics > Introduction


The NUTS classification (Nomenclature of territorial units for statistics) is a hierarchical system for dividing up the economic territory of the EU for the purpose of :

The current NUTS classification valid from 1 January 2012 until 31 December 2014 lists 97 regions at NUTS-1, 270 regions at NUTS-2 and 1294 regions at NUTS-3 level. Due to the accession of Croatia on 1 July 2013 the NUTS classification was extended by 1 NUTS-1, 2 NUTS-2 and 21 NUTS-3 regions.

See also

Legislation - Consolidated

Don't miss



Last update 11.09.2012