Register | Cookies | Links | Contact | Important legal notice
 European Commission > Eurostat > NUTS - Nomenclature of territorial units for statistics > Local Administrative Units (LAU)

Local Administrative Units (LAU)

To meet the demand for statistics at local level, Eurostat has set up a system of Local Administrative Units (LAUs) compatible with NUTS. 


At the local level, two levels of Local Administrative Units (LAU) have been defined:

  • The upper LAU level (LAU level 1, formerly NUTS level 4) is defined for most, but not all of the countries.
  • The lower LAU level (LAU level 2, formerly NUTS level 5) consists of municipalities or equivalent units in the 27 EU Member States.


Since there are frequent changes to the LAUs, Eurostat follows up its development from year to year.


The NUTS regulation makes provision for EU Member States to send exhaustive lists of their Local Administrative Units to Eurostat. If available, Eurostat receives additionally basic administrative data by means of the annual LAU lists, namely total population and surface area on LAU level 2.


Find the detailed overview of the LAU 2 - NUTS correspondences (enhanced, if available, with total population and surface area data) as of 1 January 2010 for each Member State below/portal/page/portal/PGP_ADM_IMAGES/PGE_COMMON_IMAGES/excel_image.gif

Belgium France Austria
Bulgaria Italy Poland
Czech Republic Cyprus Portugal
Denmark Latvia Romania
Germany Lithuania Slovenia
Estonia Luxembourg Slovakia
Ireland Hungary Finland
Greece Malta Sweden
Spain Netherlands United Kingdom


Here you can download the zipped excel file with the codes for the 27 countries of the EU as of 1 January 2009 (size 8 MB) :

Last update 02.12.2011