Glossary:African Union (AU)

From Statistics Explained

(Redirected from Glossary:AU)

The African Union, abbreviated as AU, is a union consisting of 53 African Member States (all African countries except for Morocco), established on 9 July 2002 by the Durban Summit as a successor to the Organisation of African Unity (OAU).

The most important organs of the AU are the Assembly of the African Union, a semi-annual meeting of the heads of state and government of its Member States, and the AU Commission, based in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, responsible for the day-to-day management of the AU and consisting of a Chairperson, a Deputy Chairperson and 8 Commissioners, each responsible for a portfolio.

Further information

Statistical data