From Statistics Explained

The Benelux Member States of the European Union (EU) are:

Belgium (BE) the Netherlands (NL) Luxembourg (LU)

The term "Benelux," formed from the first two letters of each country's name, originally referred to a customs union established in 1948. Today, the term is used as a generic grouping of the three countries.

Related concepts